Maailman Raitti is the open-air museum area of the Finnish Emigration Museum, located on the shore of Lake Kalajärvi in Peräseinäjoki. The area showcases the lives of Finnish emigrants in different parts of the world.
Hakalan Talo represents emigration to America and was the first building in the open-air museum area. Originally built around 1910 in Ilmajoki, it now serves as a rental venue for small events throughout the year.
Knuuttilan Talo was, donated from Canada, was originally built in New Finland, Saskatchewan. The oldest part of the log house dates back to 1893, and most of the interior remains original.
The workers’ barracks from a sugar cane farm in Australia represents emigration to Australia. The corrugated iron building was originally located in Ingham, Queensland, and was in use by cane cutters until the 1960s.
Bugene House, a wooden log house, was built in 1879 by Matti Unkuri, who was exiled to Siberia in Russia. The house has been reconstructed to its original appearance and is available for rental during the summer for small events.
The Finnish Emigration Museum has been operating in Peräseinäjoki since 2006 and has additional exhibitions in the Terästalo building in the town center. The museum is maintained by the Suomen Siirtolaisuusmuseon Tuki ry (Support Association of the Finnish Emigration Museum).