The Jurva Museum has operated in the area of the Haapala Farm since 1965. The area houses nine buildings, with the Haapala farmhouse hosting the main exhibition. The Jurva Museum offers an introduction to the local agricultural culture of the late 19th century and early 20th century.
The first mention of the Haapala Farm in the land tax register is from 1753. The current main building was completed in 1874. It is a typical South Ostrobothnian two-storey farmhouse with two living spaces. The building has some interesting architectural features, such as the horizontal cladding below the eaves, typical of the Swedish-speaking culture, and a two-part stable door, designed to keep wild animals out.
In addition to the main building, the original Haapala Farm buildings include a shed, a small granary and a smoke sauna. The other museum buildings were brought to the area from elsewhere in the Jurva region.
The upstairs of the main building hosts a special exhibition that changes every year. The Jurva Museum is open in summer and by request in spring and autumn. Entrance to the museum is free but visitors can support the museum’s operations with a voluntary fee.